Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in menu_set_active_trail() (line 2405 of /home/hulijedw/public_html/includes/

Sammy Wanjiru wins the Chicago Marathon

Bryan Alaspa's picture

Thousands of runners woke up early this morning to race in the Chicago Marathon. Although the marathon has been plagues with issues in the past, this morning the weather was perfect. There are probably many runners still taking their time to get through the course, which winds its way through some of the older Chicago neighborhoods. But the winner of the marathon has already been declared and it is the man who set a course record in 2009: Sammy Wanjiru

Wanjiru is from Kenya. During the 2009 race he set a new course record. In fact he set the fastest record for a man on U.S. soil by running the race in 2:05:41. Wanjiru is also an Olympic gold medalist. In today’s race he finished in 2:05:25.

The finish was decidedly dramatic for a marathon. Normally the winners of the marathon pull away from the huge pack of runners and set a very lonesome pace. This year Wanjiru put on a huge effort and sprinted across the finish line, waving at the cheering crowds and holding his arms up in victory. He managed to edge out Ethiopian runner Tsegay Kebede. Kebede had just won the London Marathon. It was one of the most competitive fields in the men’s race for some time for the Chicago Marathon.

The two runners have been in a fierce competition with each other during the marathon season. They were tied at 50 point a piece heading into the Chicago Marathon. Now, with the dramatic win, Wanjiru has the lead in the World Marathon Majors.

Other winners

Another repeat winner also won for the women’s side. Liliya Shobukhova crossed the finish line first for the women’s side. She also won in 2009.

The marathon also has racers who do so in wheelchairs. Running for the first time in this marathon in the wheelchair race was Heinz Frei from Switzerland. He is 51-years-old and he crossed the line first for the win. He set a course record of 1:26:56.

Amanda McGory won the wheelchair race for the women. She had a time of 1:47:25.

Add new comment